About the Doctoral Programme in Management

Doctoral Programme in Management is organized by ISM University of Management and Economics, Lithuania, in partnership with BI Norwegian Business School, Norway, Aarhus University, Denmark, and University of Tartu, Estonia.

The programme is run by prominent researchers of the respective universities, who are regularly published by major academic journals, act as business consultants or experts, and participate in scientific projects – ensuring the highest quality of studies through the curriculum and scientific internships.

The purpose of doctoral studies is to develop researchers, who are able to contribute to existing knowledge and conduct high quality research aimed at solving relevant social and business problems.

Doctoral studies lead to the development of competencies and skills necessary for analysing scientific literature, raising research questions, selecting adequate research methodology, conducting empirical research and sharing it with the international academic community.

Doctoral Programme in Management offers in-depth studies in the student’s chosen research area:

  • Strategy
  • Marketing
  • Organizational Behavior and Human Resource Management
  • Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Operations Management
  • Accounting and Finance

Study programme (30 ECTS) consists of:


Compulsory courses: 

Elective courses:


  • Full-time studies - up to 4 years;
  • Part-time studies - up to 6 years;
  • Extramural studies – up to 1 year.

Doctoral Committee

The Doctoral Committee is composed of researchers from all participating partner universities, co-ordinates and assures the quality of doctoral studies and scientific research.

  • Prof., dr. Ilona Bučiūnienė – ISM - Chairperson
  • Prof., dr. Tore Kristensen – ISM/ Copenhagen Business School
  • Prof., dr. Mogens Dilling-Hansen – Aarhus University
  • Prof., dr. Maaja Vadi – University of Tartu
  • Prof., dr. Rutger van Oest – BI Norwegian Business School
  • Prof., dr. Viltė Auruškevičienė – ISM
  • Prof., dr. Rūta Kazlauskaitė – ISM
  • Prof., dr. Valdonė Darškuvienė – ISM/ VDU
  • Prof., dr. Kristina Levišauskaitė – ISM/ VDU

Doctoral Committee: approves the topics of the dissertations, and the conditions and procedure of the competition for doctoral candidate supervisors and an open competition for admission to doctoral studies; performs selection of the dissertation topics and supervisors of doctoral candidates; supervises admissions to doctoral studies; considers and provides for approval the names of academic supervisors of doctoral candidates and consultants; acts as mediator for appointment of consultants; processes the requests to replace academic supervisors or consultants; approves the study programme of doctoral studies in the field of Economics and its modifications, thesis plans of the doctoral candidates, and examination committees; provides conclusions on the doctoral studies, scientific research, publication of results, doctoral thesis plans and their execution; postponing the deadlines of the doctoral thesis plan; performs certification of doctoral candidates; ensures successful progress of doctoral studies in science and improvement of the level; provides assessment of the completed doctoral dissertation; and sets up defence councils.